18th International Congress of Immunology

27 november - 2 December 2023 | Cape Town, South Africa




IUIS and its Gender Equality Committee (GEC) are pleased to announce Dr. Diane Mathis as the inaugural winner of the Menarini Prize for Outstanding Woman Immunologist . Dr.Mathis is currently Professor of Microbiology and Immunobiology and Morton Grove-Rasmussen Chair of Immunohematology at Harvard Medical School.

Established by GEC in 2020, this is the first IUIS award that recognizes outstanding research accomplishments of women immunologists. It is generously supported by the Menarini Group, an Italian pharmaceutical company founded in 1886 in Naples and currently headquartered in Florence. The Menarini Group operates in 140 countries around the world with its 18 manufacturing sites producing numerous drugs including monoclonal antibodies, for the treatment of pathologies in cardiology, oncology, pneumology and inflammation.

To select the winner, the international selection committee of 11 outstanding immunologists reviewed 23 nominations from a nominating committee of over 100 immunologists. Names of three finalists were forwarded to the IUIS Executive Committee for final selection. The USD 40,000 prize will be awarded at the IUIS 2023 Congress in Cape Town in a special ceremony on Friday, December 1st at 5.45pm (Auditorium 1), after which Dr. Mathis will give a Keynote Lecture that will be followed by a GEC networking reception. 

Prof. Diane J. Mathis, PhD

Professor of Microbiology and Immunobiology
Morton Grove-Rasmussen Chair of Immunohematology
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA, USA


Overview of Scientific Achievements

Dr. Mathis obtained a PhD from the University of Rochester and performed postdoctoral studies at the Laboratoire de Génétique Moléculaire des Eucaryotes in Strasbourg, France and at Stanford University Medical Center. She returned to Strasbourg at the end of 1983, establishing a laboratory at the LGME [later the Institut de Genetique et de Biologie Moleculare et Cellulaire (IGBMC)] in conjunction with Dr. Christophe Benoist. The lab moved to the Joslin Diabetes Center, Boston in 1999. Through 2008, Dr. Mathis was a Professor of Medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, and Associate Research Director and Head of the Section on Immunology and Immunogenetics at Joslin.

Dr. Mathis is currently a Professor in the Department of Immunology at Harvard Medical School, and holder of the Morton Grove-Rasmussen Chair in Immunohematology. She is also an Associate Faculty Member of the Broad Institute. She presently serves on Advisory Boards of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Genentech, Pfizer and Amgen (amongst others) and of several research institutes worldwide.

Her lab works in the fields of T cell differentiation, autoimmunity and inflammation. She has trained over 150 students and postdoctoral fellows.

Dr. Mathis was elected to the US National Academy of Sciences in 2003, the German Academy in 2007, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2012. She received the FASEB Excellence in Science Award in 2016.

Dr. Mathis is also an active member of the Committee on Immunology at Harvard Medical School, the Broad Institute, the Dana Farber/Harvard Cancer Center and the Harvard Stem Cell Institute.